top of page

Lesson 2: Types of sake

Updated: Apr 12, 2021

For simplification, there are 3 main categories of sake: junmai, ginjo and daiginjo that are differentiated by its level of rice polishing rate.

During the production of sake, rice grains are polished before steaming, mashing, fermenting, and squeezing. The polishing process necessitates meticulous attention and has a significant impact on the flavors the brewers want.

For instance, when a half of rice grain is milled away the yield of final product decreases thus the prices of daiginjo are typically higher than others. Hence daiginjo is typically referred as the most premium sake amongst all.

190 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page